Shared Flashcard Set

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Midterm 1
Dishman
26
Marketing
Undergraduate 3
10/05/2011

Additional Marketing Flashcards

 


 

Cards

Term
The goal and definitions of marketing
Definition
Marketing is not synonymous with sales.
The act and science of choosing target markets and building a relationship with them
Term
Social Marketing Concept
Definition
acknowledges that some products that customers want may not really be in their best interest or the best interests of society
Term
3 Sciences of Marketing
Definition
Psychology-Why people act the way they do
Economics-Transaction activity
Sociology-Why groups behave the way they do
Term
Market Strategy
Definition
involves the activities of selecting and describing one or more target markets and developing and maintaining a marketing mix that will produce mutually satisfying exchanges with target markets
Term
Marketing Mix
Definition
Blend of product, place, promotion, and pricing strategies (4 P's)
Term
Promotional Mix
Definition
Advertising, public relations, sales promotion, and personal selling.
Term
Mission statements and Vision components
Definition
Answers question--What business am I an? Market Myopia--Too narrow a statement. Components--Product/Economic/Social
Term
BCG Growth\Share matrix, SBUs
Definition
Strategic Business Unit--subgroup of single business or collection of related business in larger organization.
Term
Product Market Grid
Definition
The product/market grid has two dimensions: products and markets. New/Existing
Term
3 Sciences of Marketing
Definition
Psychology-Why people act the way they do
Economics-Transaction activity
Sociology-Why groups behave the way they do
Term
Forecasting Methods
Definition
Survey of Buyer's Intention, Sales force research, expert opinion, test marketing, time series, multivariate research
Term
TAM
Definition
Total Available Market
TAM=# of customers x Quantity purchased x price x repurchase rate
Term
Area Available Market
Definition
Geographic area potential
Term
Serviceable Available Market
Definition
Customers you can actually reach and serve
Term
Market share
Definition
Actual Sales/TAM (or AAM or SAM)
Term
BPI
Definition
Buying Power index. Weighted average, population, effective buying income, retail sales.
Term
Funnel Analysis
Definition
Allows for focus from general market to specific addressable market. Estimate SAM
Term
CLV
Definition
Customer Lifetime Value. Customer Life (N) = 1/1-CR (customer retention). CR=1-1/N
Term
Demographic types
Definition
Baby Boomers, Generation x(29-40), Genration (11-28) y, Millenials (7-10)
Term
OSINT
Definition
Open Source Intelligence
Term
HUMINT
Definition
Human intelligence (legally and ethically obtained)
Term
6 Roles of CI
Definition
1)Describe competitive environment
2)Forecast future competitive environment
3)Challenge underlying assumptions
4)Identify and compensate exposed weakness
5)Adjust strategy for changing environment
6)Determine when a strategy is no longer sustainable
Term
CI Process
Definition
Collection-->Analysis-->Dissemination-->Decision Making-->Evaluation-->Planning
Term
Market Research Process
Definition
Define Problem, research objectives-->Develop plan for collecting info-->Implement plan, collect and analyze data-->Interpret findings
Term
2 Types of Data
Definition
Primary Data-Info collected for specific purpose at hand. Secondary Data-Info collected for another purpose which already exists
Term
3 Types of market research
Definition
Survey research, Observational research, ethnographic research (human behavior in natural context)
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