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Direct & Interactive Marketing
Study cards for test
71
Advertising
Undergraduate 2
02/08/2012

Additional Advertising Flashcards

 


 

Cards

Term
3 types of lists
Definition
1. house
2. response
3. compiled
Term
List in order the levels of permission for DM?
Definition
1. Spam
2. Targeted
3. Permission
4. Opt-in
Term
how do you measure recency?
Definition
current date minus date of last order (Days)
Term
how do you measure frequency
Definition
current date minus date of first order (Days) divided by number of orders
Term
how do you measure value?
Definition
total gross margin divided by number of orders
Term
RFV
Definition
recency, frequency, value
Term
example of sociographics
Definition
Includes culture, sub-culture, social class, peer group, reference individuals
Term
examples of psychographics
Definition
includes lifestyle, habits, attitudes, beliefs, values
Term
NAICS
Definition
north american industry classification system
Term
6 ways to segment a market
Definition
geographics, demographics, psychographics, socialgraphics, industry, behavioural
Term
6 most popular offers
Definition
1. free gift with purchase
2. discount offers
3. sales offers (discount explained - has reason)
4. Sample offers
5. Guarantee offers
6. Sweepstakes offers
Term
Characteristics of successful offers
Definition
1.Believability
2.Involvement (avoid glaze over)
3.Creativity (think exclusivity)
4.Logical fit w/ business, theme + response
Term
Messages styles
Definition
1. Emotional Appeal
2. Logical appeal
3. Moral appeal
4. Teaser approach
5. Benefits focus
6. Stripper
7. People can save (more than money)
8. Negative appeal (product as hero)
9. Urgency appeal
10. Competitive differences
11. Ask a question
12. Show empathy
13. Long-form copy (more than 25 words on an envelope to attract attention)
Term
Steps to creating an offer
Definition
1. Market research
2. Determine terms
3. Target
4. Test
5. Execute
Term
Steps to setting up a database
Definition
1. Developing
2. Maintaining
3. Securing
4. Enhancement
Term
The direct marketing puzzle, importance of each component
Definition
• 40% offer
• 40% list
• 10% creative
• 10% channel
Term
what is customer fulfillment?
Definition
a promise to deliver as agreed upon or presented
Term
direct marketing
Definition
• Selling to individuals with identified customers
• Advertising is used to generate an immediate transaction
• Repetition of offers, numbers, etc used within the advertisement
• Distribution to door
• Customer feels a high perceived risk
• Marketing controls the product all the way through delivery
Term
traditional brand marketing
Definition
• Purchase action deferred
• Mass selling
• Selling to groups of people
• Retail outlet is the marketplace
• Marketer loses control as the product enters the distribution channel
• Advertising used to build image, awareness, loyalty
• Customer has direct contact with product before purchase
Term
offer must include:
Definition
• Terms of what’s being promoted (the product)
• SOLID request for response
• Corresponding offer
Term
ASC
Definition
Advertising Standards Canada
Term
tool used from the ASC to determine if ad meets standards
Definition
pre-clearance
Term
factors for deciding on the channel
Definition
1. info availability
2. channel tolerance
3. offer immediacy
4. necessity of virility
5. level of trackability
6. estimated cost per response
Term
CPR
Definition
cost per response
Term
GPR
Definition
gross point ratings
Term
broadcast channels
Definition
tv
radio
Term
phone channels
Definition
tele talk
sms
Term
print channels
Definition
mail
large format
point-of-purchase
magazine / newspaper
Term
web channels
Definition
website
search
email
social
Term
other screen channels
Definition
kiosks
games
apps
Term
event-based
Definition
swarms
booths
guerilla
Term
mail typical response rate
Definition
0.9%
Term
3 types of direct mail
Definition
addressed
unaddressed
special delivery
Term
DRTV
Definition
direct response television (slapchop)
Term
TV chosen as channel because..
Definition
target segment not as well defined, large audience
Term
talk tele chosen because..
Definition
high response rate / overcome objections
Term
inbound telemarketing
Definition
customer calls in to purchase something
Term
out-bound telemarketing
Definition
cold call
Term
CPP
Definition
cost per piece
cost of campaign / # sent
Term
LTV
Definition
Lifetime Value of a Customer
(5 x 3) *50 = $750 + $9 = $759
average customer comes 5x /yr for 3 yrs, spends $50
Plus the costs to do a campaign to replace that customer
Term
CPR
Definition
Cost Per Response
cost of campaign / # responded
Term
campaign profit / loss
Definition
cost of campaign - revenue
Term
ROI
Definition
Similar to gross profit, only all business expenses are taken into account
Term
Change in Behaviour
Definition
Comparison of before and after
Term
Trends
Definition
Chart showing trends for any one category from before, during and after. Often using data from Changes in behaviour.
Term
ANALYTICS
Definition
Cost Per Piece
Lifetime value of a customer (LTV)
Cost Per Response (CPR)
Gross profit
Bottom Line Profit
ROI
Change in behaviours
Trends
Term
If a campaign only shows 3 responses how can you prove to the client that the campaign is still successful? Which formula may help with this?
Definition
LTV
Term
If I want to determine how much it’s costing me for each person that receives the postcard from a direct mail campaign which formula would I use?
Definition
CPR
Term
If I want to determine how much it’s costing me for each person that receives the postcard which formula would I use?
Definition
CPP
Term
other names for loyalty marketing
Definition
customer experience marketing or customer advocacy marketing
Term
Premiums are ..
Definition
items that a retail customer can receive by redeeming proofs of purchase from a specific product or store. This was one of the first loyalty marketing programs.
Term
types of premiums that can be offered
Definition
Rebate / cash back, discount, points
Term
affinity programs are..
Definition
co-branded programs (credit card) linked to a special consumer interest eg a charity, sports club etc.
Term
Modularity means
Definition
enabling participants to mix and match aspects to their own preferences in a loyalty program
Term
NPS in a loyalty program database refers to
Definition
net promoter score
Term
loyalty stems from
Definition
Product quality, experience, fulfilment and Satisfying long-term needs
Term
mandatory components of DM
Definition
offer, list, terms, call to action
Term
house list
Definition
Loyal, frequent, active, inactive, inquiry, referral)
Term
response list
Definition
Known responders
Term
compiled list
Definition
Official, third party, govt, research firms)
Term
CRM
Definition
customer / client relationship management
Term
expressed offer no value
Definition
free estimate
typically all estimates are free
Term
goal of every DM message?
Definition
response
Term
how many more people read the headline than the body copy?
Definition
5
Term
how many words should be in headline
Definition
6-12 words ideal
Term
how many words is ideal in body?
Definition
Readership falls off at 50 words, but then doesn’t fall off between 50-500 so write up to 50, or write up to 500 not in between.
Term
AIDA for copywriting
Definition
Get attention, Develop interest, Reduce resistant, call for action
Term
Metrics
Definition
Response Rate - Clicks, phone calls, prints, forwards, visits
Retention - Repeat purchases
Information acquired / Permission granted
Eyeballs, ears, noses, mouths
(enter, exit, length of time)
Popularity / Virality - Friends, Followers, Likes, Links, Posts, Tags
Purchases by $
Purchases by #
Purchases by Item popularity
Expenses
Partners
Amount of Media coverage
Dollar value of media coverage
Term
Pre-Campaign Goals
Definition
Estimations & Forecasts (secondary research, past results = primary research)
Term
Mid-Campaign Metrics
Definition
KPI, early indicator metrics & milestones
Term
Post-Campaign Analysis
Definition
Estimated vs Actual with the why, how, what now
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